Cavoodle about to eat Petzyo dog food

The Petzyo Dog Food Review: Tested & Evaluated 2023

Written By Eloisa Thomas | Canine Coach, Double M.A in Anthropology.
Edited & Fact Checked By Renae Soppe | B.A Journalism & Science. 
Last Updated: 2nd October 2023

Are you looking for a full Petzyo dog food review? No worries, today we’re digging deep into this brand. If you’re looking for an Australian-made, protein-heavy food for your pup, this might be the right choice.

To provide all the information you need about the canine cuisine this popular company offers, we teamed up with veterinarians, canine nutritionists, and pet parents alike to form a team of independent experts. We spent weeks testing out all of Petzyo's dog food options, with our beloved dogs as the happy participants. So how did it all turn out? Keep reading to know why we crowned it the best dog food in Australia!

  • Petzyo is an Australian company offering dry kibble and raw food delivered straight to your door
  • Their recipes are all single-protein, and their kangaroo flavours only have sustainably sourced kangaroo
  • Priced better than most major Australian dog food brands

Quick Pick - Our Best Rated Dog Food

Petzyo Dog Food

Our Number 1 Pick
Petzyo Dog Food

  • Ethically sourced Kangaroo, Chicken or Salmon, sweet potato & superfood extras
  • Iron-rich & low fat proteins
  • Three Omega-3 and -6 rich oils with a well balanced 11% fat content
  • Made in Australia

Petzyo being tested by our independent expert team.

Petzyo being tested by our independent reviewer, Daze The Dog.

Australia's Petzyo Dog Food Review

Petzyo - Overall 5 Star Rating

  • Ingredients: Sustainable Kangaroo, Sweet Potato, Peas, Lentils, Carrots, Broccolli & Broccoli Stem, Tomato, Spinach, Kelp, Blueberries, Rosemary, Parsley, Basil, Oregano, Turmeric, Chicken Oil, Flaxseed Oil, Fish Oil, Vitamin and Minerals (Vitamins A, B1, B2, B6, B11, B12, D, E, K, Taurine, Niacin, Folic Acid, Biotin, Choline, Pantonthenic Acid, Omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids, Iron, Zinc, Copper, Manganese, Selenium, Iodine and Cobalt).
  • Named Protein First: Yes
  • Dog Food Type: Grain Inclusive
  • Recipe Range: Kangaroo, Sweet Potato & Superfood Extras or Salmon, Ocean Fish & Green Lipped Muscles or Chicken, Turkey & Superfood Extras or Petzyo Raw Food Range.
  • Suitable For: Petzyo's recipe range can be suitable for puppy, adult and senior dogs depending on the recipe.
  • Cost: $$$
  • Australian Owned: Yes


Taste

Ingredients

Protein content

Additives

Variety

Price

Taste 5/5

Most dogs love the taste of this brand, particularly their raw patties. Petzyo’s dry kibble was also a hit with the dogs on our team of experts, probably because of the addition of tasty kangaroo meat and sweet potatoes as the first and second ingredient respectively.

In general, non-picky eaters tend to really like the taste. On the other hand, some owners mentioned the food doesn’t smell too strong, so it isn’t bothersome as you serve it. Considering you should be storing your pup’s dry food in an airtight container either way, this isn’t a big deal.

We particularly like the possibility of ordering different flavours to a single order to really find what works best with our dog’s taste buds. Because of the many positive pup reviews and our own assessment, we’re giving Petzyo 5 out of 5 in this category.

Ingredients 5/5

This is where this brand really shines. Petzyo dog food is packed with healthy, whole ingredients meant to nourish your dog like they deserve. Even though Petzyo offers both dry kibble and raw patties, their recipes share a lot of the same ingredients in similar proportions, so we’ll review them together.

The first thing that stands out is that animal protein is the first ingredient in all their recipes. This is great news, and it means the meat percentage is higher than that of the second and third ingredients. Following animal protein, all recipes have sweet potato. This root crop has plenty of vegetable fibre that in turn helps your pup have a healthy digestion [1]. On the other hand, sweet potatoes are also rich in essential vitamins, including vitamin A, B6, potassium and calcium. Vitamin A is essential to eye health, and many orange and red veggies have it. Vitamin C is also vital to keep your dog’s immune system working properly. 

"Studies have found that dogs, just like humans, show greater resistance to disease and have a better chance of recovery from injuries or illness when supplemented with vitamin C." – American Kennel Club [1]

The next ingredient in Petzyo’s recipes are legumes, specifically peas and lentils. These two add a good amount of vegetable protein, fibre and trace nutrients to keep your dog’s diet balanced. With the rise of grain-free dog food brands, peas are now a common ingredient in dry recipes.

However, their inclusion has arisen some controversy. According to the British NGO All About Dog Food, peas in moderation are a healthy inclusion to most dog’s diet [2]. This falls in line with previous scientific research pointing out the nutritional value of including peas and other legumes into domestic dog’s diets.

However, some companies have used peas as a filler and a way to bump up their food’s total protein percentage. Also, in June 2019 an FDA report was published showing there seemed to be a weak link between consistently feeding a grain-free diet - usually high in legumes - with dangerous heart conditions in dogs [3]. The FDA also released an update in December 2022 stating the encouragement of further research into the correlation between the two, so the jury is still out. A recent 2023 study did investigate certain grain-free diets (including peas) and their effects on cardiac function in Beagles over a 28 day trial period. While they did find increases in risky factors for heart health, they concluded that more long term studies are required. [4]

Either way, these kinds of issues appeared to arise only when peas are the main ingredient in a dog food recipe. In contrast, Petzyo’s recipes always have animal meat and sweet potatoes as the first and second ingredients. Therefore, we feel confident recommending this brand to feed your beloved pup.

Considering the wholesome ingredients and high-quality recipes, our team of independent experts is giving Petzyo 5 out of 5 in this category.

Protein content 5/5

We appreciate that the first ingredient in all recipes, both dry and raw, is meat. Petzyo’s dry recipes have a guaranteed analysis of 25% protein content, which falls in line with official AAFCO recommendations that mandate at least 18%. Plus, considering legumes and other vegetable proteins are far down the ingredient list, we can safely assume most of the reported protein comes from animal sources instead of fillers.

Another feature we appreciate in this brand is that all their recipes are single protein. This means if a recipe states ‘chicken’, it will only have chicken and chicken by-products, and the same happens with their kangaroo, beef, and salmon flavours.

This is great since many dogs, my own included, have become allergic to common ingredients in dog food. When kibble isn’t properly marked, or the labeling is confusing, it can lead to allergic flare-ups that are uncomfortable and, in some cases, dangerous to your dog’s health. Having a single protein per recipe also makes it easier to detect the case whenever food allergies appear, and switch proteins as needed.

Petzyo has four different animal protein options, depending on whether you’re buying their dry or raw recipes. In their dry kibble recipes, there’s chicken and turkey, salmon and fish, and kangaroo. Their raw patties come with either chicken, beef, or kangaroo. We especially like the fact they use sustainably-sourced kangaroo, an animal protein source that is better for the environment than other meats [5].

All things considered, Petzyo offers a wide protein variety while also delivering sustainable options fit for today’s needs. Because of it, our panel has agreed to give this brand 5 out of 5 stars.

Additives 5/5

Considering the high-quality proteins and carbs used in the recipes, it’s no surprise the rest of Petzyo’s options pack plenty of nutritious extras to round up your pup’s diet. While the specifics vary according to the recipe, some of the goodies include carrots, broccoli, tomatoes, spinach, and blueberries, as well as herbs like rosemary, parsley, basil, oregano and turmeric.

The salmon and fish kibble recipe also has green lipped mussel. This ingredient is considered a "superfood" because research shows it can have positive effects on inflammation, particularly in arthritic and old dogs. According to vet Michael Petty, the main anti-inflammatory compound in green lipped mussels is Omega-3 fatty acids, which are also found in fish and other shellfish [6].

However, green lipped mussels also have other acids that act alongside Omega-3 and boost its anti-inflammatory properties. Our independent expert team share that this protects your dog’s joints, relieves arthritic pain, and overall increases their quality of life as they get older. The best part about these specific mussels is that they are native to New Zealand, so it’s a reasonably sustainable and local ingredient.

We also appreciate that their recipes specifically claim not to have any sulphites as preservatives. These compounds are commonly used as preservatives in pet food but have been linked to thiamine deficiencies and even death in large quantities. 

"There are safety issues relating to sulphur dioxide and sodium and potassium sulphite preservatives – these can cause thiamine (Vitamin B1) deficiency, which can be fatal." – RSPCA knowledge base [7]

Nevertheless, in Australia, pet food companies aren’t obligated by law to mention the preservatives on their food, so it’s good to see a company that takes the lead. Instead of traditional sulphites, Petzyo uses rosemary to keep the food fresh.

Because of this, we’re giving Petzyo 5 out of 5 in this category.

Variety 4/5

This is a relatively new and small company, focused on quality rather than quantity. Because of it, their ranges are small in comparison with other brands.

As of the writing of this article, Petzyo has three different kibble recipes, and three raw patty recipes as well. As we mentioned earlier, these are single-protein recipes so you can always mix and match to keep your dog interested.

According to our panel of independent experts, these recipes are balanced and are also suitable for puppy and senior dogs. However, there is no specific puppy or senior range, while this is fine from a nutritional standpoint, it also means you need to be careful with portioning out your dog’s food. An old dog can get overweight easily if you feed it above their nutritional needs. On the flip side, puppies need careful monitoring to make sure they are eating appropriate quantities, particularly if they are large or giant breeds.

Considering there are no age-specific recipes and portioning out your dog’s food can be hard if you have a young or old dog, we’re taking off one star.

Price 5/5

This is what took Petzyo above and beyond when considering the best dog foods in Australia. Unlike other brands that use equally high-quality ingredients, this one is affordable.

Petzyo only sells online, effectively cutting intermediaries that can increase prices. They also only sell food for several months at a time, so it’s also more affordable when looking at cost-per-meal or even cost-per-week. We love the speedy delivery as well, so you won’t have to spend petrol and time going to the store for your weekly or monthly order.

Overall, we find this brand very affordable, especially when considering the vet bills, you’re avoiding by providing optimum nutrition to your dog.


Do Not Buy Petzyo If…

This is our top-rated dog food, so if you’re looking for a Petzyo dog food review to check its defaults… we couldn’t find anything major. However, our expert panel shares there are some cases where this might not be the right fit if you:

  • Have a large-breed puppy. Large and giant-breed puppies need to be carefully fed to keep them from growing too fast. Of course, you can feed them with any balanced food, but it’s easier if the kibble is low in protein from the get-go, instead of making sure you’re not giving them too much food.
  • Want wet food. Currently, Petzyo only offer dry kibble and raw patties, so there are no canned foods to choose from. You might want that stew-like consistency for an older dog, but you can easily achieve that with a little prep work by soaking the patties or adding lukewarm water. Of course, this might not be feasible if you’re too busy.

The Verdict

This is still the best dog food in Australia in our rankings for a reason! With its good price, top-notch ingredients and flavour variety, it’s a great choice for most dogs and their owners.

Everyone on our team of independent experts say you give it a try! It’s the best option if you’re looking to buy from an Australian company while feeding your dog the best food possible.

Want to read more dog food brand reviews? Check out the below:

References
  1. Anastasio, A. November 17, 2021. "Can Dogs Eat Sweet Potatoes?" American Kennel Club. Retrieved September 10, 2023. https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/nutrition/can-dogs-eat-sweet-potatoes/
  2. "Peas in dog food". All about dog food. Retrieved September 10, 2023.  https://www.allaboutdogfood.co.uk/dog-food-ingredients/0001/peas
  3. "FDA Investigation into Potential Link between Certain Diets and Canine Dilated Cardiomyopathy". December 23, 2022. U.S Food and Drug Administration. Retrieved September 10, 2023. https://www.fda.gov/animal-veterinary/outbreaks-and-advisories/fda-investigation-potential-link-between-certain-diets-and-canine-dilated-cardiomyopathy
  4. Quilliam, C. et al (2023). "Effects of a 28-day feeding trial of grain-containing versus pulse-based diets on cardiac function, taurine levels and digestibility in domestic dogs". PLOS One, 18(5): e0285381. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0285381 
  5. "Let's Talk Kangaroo". 16 March, 2023. Sustainable table. Retrieved September 10, 2023. https://sustainabletable.org.au/all-things-ethical-eating/kangaroo/
  6. "Green Lipped Mussels for Dogs: How They Can Help". December 20, 2016. PetMD. Retrieved September 10, 2023. https://www.petmd.com/dog/wellness/green-lipped-mussels-dogs-how-they-can-help
  7. "Are preservatives in pet food products a concern?" RSPCA knowledge base. Retrieved September 10, 2023. https://kb.rspca.org.au/knowledge-base/are-preservatives-in-pet-food-products-a-concern/

Eloisa Thomas


Eloisa Thomas is Gentle Dog Trainers Canine Coach & Anthropologist.

With a double master's degree in Anthropology and awarded a Chancellor's International Scholarship to pursue a PhD in History at the University of Warwick (UK), she's well equipped to write well written and factual canine information that will actually help people understand their dogs better.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

  1. I’ve purchased Petzyo once for my two dogs ( blue heeler cross aged 8 months and Labrador cross aged one year). I was very impressed by the ease of delivery and the dogs seemed to like it. My two will eat any thing though. Just wondering about the fact that it contains lentils as I thought these could cause heart problems in dogs?

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}